Tuesday, August 29, 2006

Damn Activation

For about 30 days of Windows Activation has ended, they forcing me to activate this Windows in my computer. I try to put my "original" product key but they say,"According to our records, the number of times you can activate Windows with this product key has been exceeded. Please enter a different product key, and then click Retry..." and so on. It can be also be activated via Telephone process call into Microsoft Company here in the Philippines but I'm tired dial my phone that was given to the activation window on the telephone number displayed at the Windows Activation window. I'm not good on conversations, that's the reason in easier way to tell you about. :D

In the time that Windows asking for activation, I can't open any applications that was in my computer, in other words, They will not allow me to log-in to my copmuter until I activate my Windows, but I tell you that while I am typing this post is the time that Windows asking me to activate, in other words again, until now Microsoft asking me to activate my Windows. I'm thinking about if I will just forget activate my Windows and repeat the process that I did to open my applications without activating my Windows. The disadvantage of this process is that my computer is not fully secured but it's ok cause I still can run my programs in manual steps or processes. Microsoft didn't know that there's a way on how to use computer even if they lock my desktop so so I can't use it and force me to buy another product key by the same price I brought an original copy of Windows XP Home Edition CD set. Just repeating processes everytime I open my computer. :D

But still, I'm suffering in this Windows Products because of so many commercials, updatings and other non-so-very important things that trying to get your attentions for nothing.

SCREW WINDOWS!!!
SCREW MICROSOFT!!!

This is a whole print screen only... sorry if it is so blurrrrrr....

Saturday, August 12, 2006

Why Windows So Stupid?

Most softwares are compatible in Windows/Microsoft but every software Windows runs is that everytime I open a program, there are always popping-up that so called "ERRORS" and/or "A programs has encountered a problem and need to close" and all they can say is "Sorry for the inconvenience" and then I always send a report for that problem and their only help is that always say "Call for on-line support" or "e-mail us for more support". If you call them for supports, maybe they reply to you "there is/are ways to solve YOUR problem/s (not YOUR COMPUTER's problem)" but they only says "Just buy our products/utility softwares..." (just like that).

I try to buy a licensed copy of Windows Home Edition CD for almost P5,000.00 (about $96.00 in US Dollar). Then I reformat my new computer (before: Pirated Windows XP Professional) and after t'was installed and reboot and start to run, a balloon pops at my taskbar button says "30 days left for activation". Then when I open the the activation window it say, "According to our record, the number of times you can activate Windows with this product key has been exceeded..." but this is my only computer that has been installed with this product key. They are only did was MONEY MAKING.

This is always what I get so I try to visit Windows Activation Assistance Web Site for more informations. A Internet Explorer window opens. After the loading session, there is a very short sentence says, "Please visit Shop.Microsoft to purchase this item." The question is, "Why do I need to buy that product if I have already one?" Windows is soooo stupid!!! They try to mek more money but they are already the Richest in the World. I only did was wait for the time left to activate that stupid activation!

Another problem is that in Internet Explorer is that spywares, adwares, viruses and other malicious programs/softwares. If you don't have any anti-virus or anti-spywares, those programs are so easy to attack your computer without alerts and notices. They will attack your computer's memory, hard disks, softwares and/or anything that will destroy your computer. Anti-Virus, Anti-Spyware and other Internet Security or utilities are recommended to secure your computer from any malicious programs/softwares but, even those software installers are needed to purchase first before you can use it completely to secure and all of those are so expensive for licensed programs. Then you will be forced to buy pirated cds/installers for Windows users only. Maybe other OSs also needed some security but it doesn't matter anymore, like Linux, very seldom viruses can attack Linux because almost all of the viruses are only compatible with Windows.

The only advantage of Windows OS is that almost all of the games are only compatible with it. But I or WE (with Mike Lopez - a Linux user) discovered that StarCraft can run and play in Linux (mentioned already).

There's alot more reasons why Windows, or maybe I say, Bill Gates is very STUPID!!!

Wednesday, August 02, 2006

LAN over Internet

Bored playing starcraft alone while no one wants to play with me as LAN games... My friend Mike Lopez, just a walking distance near from our house, set-up my computer LAN connection and sharing files and it was done. When we done playing starcraft in multiplayer, before he went home is that came to our mind if we can connect LAN via internet connection and then we search all around the google and then we've found out a software Hamachi (www.hamachi.cc) . Hamachi is the software that WE to do exactly what we want - to setup a Local Area Network over my Internet connection. Then we download the software depends on what will be compatible with our copmuter (I have Windows and he has Linux) and then after following instructions and installing the program, we got connected to each other like we were on the same LAN but this time, it's LAN over Internet. T'was GREAT!!!

Here comes the step ' Test'. We open starcraft to play and... We are enable to play together just like we're on the same LAN connection but there's a times that the connection slows down and almost we dropped the game. But good news is, we finish play starcraft and it was horrible that we won the 'Test Game'. Hamachi provides a GUI setup for Windows users and a command line version for Linux and OSX. Gui version for Linux and OSX is said to be under development. It’s a great tool and it was pretty trivial to setup LAN Over Internet with Hamachi.